Canadian Ski Patrol, Skeena Zone (CSP Skeena) promotes injury prevention and delivers volunteer first aid and rescue services to the snow sliding public and other outdoor enthusiasts in northwest British Columbia. We are one of 59 zones that together form a national non-profit charitable corporation comprised of over 4,500 volunteers that work at 230 ski areas in all ten provinces and the Yukon.

CSP Skeena has promoted injury prevention and delivered volunteer first aid and rescue services for over 40 years.  Our organization started during the 1975-1976 winter season to serve the public at the Kitimat-Stikine Regional District’s Kitsumkalum Mountain Ski Area near Terrace, BC.

Following the permanent closure of Kitsumkalum Mountain Ski Area in 1988 and the sale of its assets to the Shames Mountain Ski Corporation, CSP Skeena continued to provide volunteer public safety services at the privately developed Shames Mountain Ski Area, which opened during the 1990-1991 winter season.

The 2018-2019 winter season marks the 29th season of CSP Skeena volunteer service at Shames Mountain, which is now owned and operated by a community service cooperative called My Mountain Recreational Cooperative.

CSP Skeena is committed to excellence and improvement in the services we provide.